Conference on sources of individual linguistic differences| University of Ottawa | March 2-4, 2011 | Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

© Richard J. Dagan 2010

Download the conference poster

Email us at IndLingDiff@gmail.com

This conference will explore all sources of individual differences in linguistic competence and performance, paying special attention to the role of traits associated with Autism Spectrum Disorders, of which classic Autism and Asperger's Syndrome are the clearest subgroups, and how the study of autistic and autistic-like traits can inform and be informed by the scientific study of language. While the study of linguistic variation is often treated as synonymous with sociolinguistic variation, comparatively less attention has been paid to variation that is due to individual cognitive processing styles, physiological differences, and other factors. Idiosyncratic variation provides an opportunity to understand the limits and flexibility of the human capacity for language, and to better understand the observed properties of natural languages, which are systems that must be shared by individuals who differ from each other in important ways.

While linguists have long maintained that individuals with diverse cognitive and physiological abilities typically achieve the same level of linguistic competence as unimpaired speakers, individuals with different processing styles or physiological configurations do not necessarily achieve and exert this competence in the same ways. Similarly, while traditional linguistic models have attributed this parity to the role of a specialized language faculty, more recent work has suggested the coexistence of multiple processing strategies, such as abstract and detailed representations for the same linguistic objects. Variation between individuals has the potential to highlight the importance of different ways of processing language. While there is a long history of exploring the clinical range of cognitive and physiological differences, a better understanding of the linguistic implications of the non-clinical ranges of these factors have the potential to inform linguistic theory by showing the range of processing styles that the human capacity for language allows.

Variability that is related to the Autism Spectrum is of special interest to this conference, but we also appeal for studies of interspeaker variability in other domains. For the same reasons that research on different forms of individual variability can inform linguistics, language provides a unique testing ground for researchers interested in cognitive and physiological variability, in part because the arbitrariness and redundancy of language allow different speakers to perform linguistic tasks in different ways.

The goal of this conference is to bring together researchers working on the linguistic consequences of individual variation, or the sources of variation, to present their current ideas and to provide a breeding ground for cross-framework and cross-disciplinary dialogues, and to ensure that each group of researchers is exposed to the state-of-the-art in adjacent fields. We hope the conference will facilitate collaboration among linguists, speech scientists, and cognitive scientists, to seek out better explanations for the nature of linguistic deficits and enhancements in different types of people, as well as to explore how better understanding of individual variation might advance linguistic theory via the investigation of variation in the fundamental (cognitive, physiological, social, etc.) underpinnings of language.

Organization Committee

Conférence sur les sources des différences linguistiques individuelles| Université d'Ottawa | 2 au 4 mars 2012 | Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

© Richard J. Dagan 2010

affiche (en anglais)

Contactez-nous au IndLingDiff@gmail.com

Cette conférence vise à explorer les sources des différences individuelles de compétence et de performance linguistique, en accordant une attention particulière au rôle des traits associés aux troubles du spectre autistique dont les sous-groupes les plus clairs sont l'autisme classique et le syndrome d'Asperger. Elle s'intéresse aussi à la façon dont l'étude des traits autistiques et de type autistique peut influencer l'étude scientifique de la langue et en profiter à son tour. Bien qu'on ne distingue souvent pas l'étude de variation linguistique de celle de la variation sociolinguistique, encore moins d'attention a été accordée à la variation issue des différents styles de traitement cognitif, des différences physiologiques et d'autres facteurs. La variation idiosyncratique fournit l'occasion de saisir les limites et la flexibilité de la faculté linguistique et de mieux comprendre les propriétés des systèmes linguistiques naturels, qui sont des systèmes partagés par des individus qui diffèrent par ailleurs d'une multitude d'autres façons.

Alors que les linguistes ont longtemps maintenu que les personnes avec des styles de traitement cognitif et des aptitudes physiologiques différents atteignent généralement le même niveau de compétence linquistique que les personnes non-affectées, elles n'atteignent pas toujours ou n'exercent pas nécessairement cette compétence de manière identique. De la même façon, tandis que les modèles linguistiques traditionels attribuent cette parité à une faculté linguistique spécialisée, des travaux récents ont suggéré la coexistence de plusieurs modes de traitement, comme des représentations abstraites et detaillées pour les mêmes objets linguistiques. La variation individuelle a le potentiel de mettre en évidence l'importance des différents modes de traitement linguistique. Bien que l'exploration de la gamme clinique des différences cognitives et physiologiques ait une longue histoire, une meilleure compréhension des implications linguistiques du spectre non-clinique de ces facteurs pourrait être utile à la théorie linguistique en détaillant l'éventail des styles de traitement permis par la capacité linguistique humaine.

La variabilité liée au spectre autistique est le centre d'intérêt principal de cette réunion, mais nous invitions aussi les chercheurs intéressés à la variabilité interpersonnelle dans d'autres domaines à soumettre leurs travaux. Si la recherche sur les différentes formes de variabilité individuelle peut guider la linguistique, la langue fournit un terrain d'expérimentation unique pour les chercheurs intéressés à la variation cognitive et physiologique, parce que l'arbitraire et la redondance de la langue permettent aux locuteurs de réaliser les tâches linguistiques de différentes façons.

L'objectif de cette conférence est d'abord de rassembler des chercheurs qui travaillent sur les conséquences linguistiques de la variation individuelle ou sur ses causes pour leur permettre de présenter leurs idées actuelles, mais aussi de fournir un terrain fertile pour le dialogue interdisciplinaire pour permettre à chaque groupe de chercheurs de découvrir les derniers développements dans les disciplines connexes. Nous espérons que la réunion facilite la collaboration entre linguistes, chercheurs en science de la parole et chercheurs en sciences cognitives, leur permette d'en arriver à de meilleures explications pour la nature des déficits et des avantages linguistiques associées aux différents types de personnalités et facilite l'exploration de la relation entre une meilleure compréhension de la variation individuelle et la théorie linguistique grâce à l'étude de la variation linguistique dans ses fondements essentiels (cognitifs, physiologiques, sociaux...).

Le comité organisateur